Strengthen the Structure 

Raising 2 boys with Autism has been the greatest adventure. They are the most incredible blessing and greatest teachers.   Of course the journey isn’t always sunshine and rainbows, there have been plenty of storms and earthquakes along the path. The great thing is that Getting through the earthquakes has grown us and made us stronger.  It has especially strengthened me as a mother, as a leader, and my Faith.

Today we were playing at the local science center and my youngest son was building a structure. He had to build the structure on top of a shaky surface that was simulating an earthquake. My son was amazingly patient and worked diligently to try to figure out how to keep his structure from falling when the earthquake hit. As I sat there trying to figure out if I should help him, I thought about my team at work and how at times it feels like we are trying to brace ourselves against the quake.

Working in an environment that is fast paced, constantly changing, and few resources can feel like a quake and if we are not properly equipped the structure gets shaken and feels like it is coming apart.  I always try to reassure my team that we can get through it, that although we can’t control the storm, we can control our response to it. There are times my team doesn’t buy it, and at times I question how much longer I can ask them to hang in there and be resilient.

As I am lost in these thoughts, I look up and see this sign that says “You have the power to strengthen a structure when you know how to brace it against a quake”.  The sign reminded me of all the quakes I have been through in the last 2 years, and know that the only way I was able to gain strength was bracing myself to God.

I know Mixing God with work can be considered taboo. Although I am not trying to push anyone into a religion, I sure think that learning to lean on God and bracing ourselves in him, is beneficial in any environment, no matter what religious background someone has.  The moment I saw the sign, I knew I had to break the taboo and share this insight with my team. Although we come from a diverse background, and a diverse set of talents and challenges- together we will find the answers.  I have faith in their abilities, and I have faith in the gifts God has given me to lead them and when we brace ourselves in this faith we can see the answers of how we can strengthen our structure and get through any quake or storm.

As my youngest son continued to struggle, I thought about how I could help him brace his structure. I looked over and saw a mother that had helped her daughter reinforce her structure by adding some cylinders. Once we reinforced it, the structure withstood the next simulated quake. Together my son and I couldn’t figure it out but by reaching out we found the answer. Funny how God works that way right!? The answers are there, we just have to be willing to explore what is in our seaweed.


“Two are better than one, for if one falls the other is there….Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A CORD of Three strands is not easily broken.”… Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Leave a Reply

